Skip to content ↓

Wellesley House Staff presented with national boarding award

Matthew and Elena Nichol have been presented with the Stephen Winkley Boarding Achievement Award at the annual conference of the Boarding Schools' Association.

The couple were announced at the BSA Annual Conference for Heads dinner at The Lowry Theatre on Wednesday 4th May 2016 during the association’s Golden Jubilee Annual Conference.

The award was introduced in 2015 by the Boarding Schools’ Association (BSA), which represents over 500 UK independent and state boarding schools.  It is named in memory of Stephen Winkley, former headmaster of Uppingham School and Rossall School, who died recently and the award marks the contribution of someone from the ‘boarding family’.

Matthew and Elena, have worked at Wellesley House since 1986, and moved into ‘The Orchard’, the girls’ boarding house in 1990.  They were nominated by headmaster, Simon O’Malley who described the married team as “uniquely and selflessly dedicated to the girls in their care.”

Receiving their award from BSA vice-chair Leo Winkley, son of Stephen Winkley and head of St Peter’s School York and Frank Gardner OBE, BBC Security Correspondent.  

Matthew Nichol said: 

“It is a great honour to receive such a prestigious award.  I am extremely grateful to the BSA.  As a former pupil of Uppingham School where Stephen Winkley was Headmaster, I am very proud to receive such an award given in his name.  I’m sure he would approve.”

Elena Nichol said: 

“It is a privilege to accept this award from the BSA.  I have been very fortunate to have had the opportunity to look after hundreds of girls in the last 26 years.  I hope I was able to make a small contribution towards their all-round development.”

BSA Chief Executive Robin Fletcher said: 

“Thousands of professionals work tirelessly to provide boarding of the highest quality to over 75,000 students across the UK.

The Stephen Winkley Boarding Achievement Award recognises the outstanding commitment of boarding staff and we are delighted the award has gone to such worthy winners.”